Scattered toward every wind …


a new beginning …
Saturday, 8 November, 2008, 5:04 am
Filed under: drawing | Tags: , , , , , ,

ezekiel 17:21-24:

“All the (Y)choice men in all his troops will fall by the sword, and the survivors will be scattered to every wind; and you will know that I, the LORD, have spoken.

Thus says the Lord GOD, “I will also take a sprig from the lofty top of the cedar and set it out; I will pluck from the topmost of its young twigs a tender one and I will plant it on a (Z)high and lofty mountain.

“On the high mountain of Israel I will plant it, that it may bring forth boughs and bear fruit and become a stately (AA)cedar. And birds of every kind will nest under it; they will nest in the shade of its branches.

“All the (AB)trees of the field will know that I am the LORD; I bring down the high tree, exalt the low tree, dry up the green tree and make the dry tree (AC)flourish. I am the LORD; I have spoken, and I will perform it.”

… i’ve probably only read this particular text once in my entire life, and it was probably an instance where i randomly flipped gilded the pages of a very dusty bible and my eyes happened to fall on these words. i remembered just one part from this passage, and it became the title of this blog. with so much changing recently, whether it be my evolving theology and subsequent evolving worldview, or my new found desire to challenge myself with goals, i’ve found myself feeling very scattered in every sense of the word. my heart is in many different places. my mind wanders and wonders endlessly at the mysteries and rapturous pain and beauty of life. “scattered toward every wind” has such rich poetic imagery to it. though it is used in a markedly negative way in the above passage, in all my aforementioned wondering, i’ve most times viewed my scattering as a positive development.

i think of the dandelions of spring and summer … as kids, and perhaps even now, we would take these weeds, and blow the white, fluffy seeds off and send them off wherever the wind would take them. these seeds land, and new dandelions pop up everywhere. there is something both nostalgic and beautiful about this natural process … i feel as though i am being blown off my stem, scattering toward every wind, discovering new things about myself, about God, and about this world along the way. i’m becoming pliable … feeling that wherever these winds take me, i, like the dandelion weed, can settle and even flourish.

feeling as though i am already a fairly creative person, this season i’m in seems to have lit a fire underneath me, and provided some inspiration. i hope that this blog will be an appropriate canvas for some art and some thoughts …

in the spirit of the above passage, here is part one in a series of trees that i have started drawing … i started drawing dead trees … since it is pretty much my first foray into drawing, i’ve decided to combine drawing with photography. i tried to photograph each tree in a creative and interesting way to add to their … potential goodness, for lack of a better phrase. anyway, here is part one … which is actually the most recent one. for more info on this particular work, i believe there is a comment section below …

bending tree

cheers.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sweet. Great post. I really look forward to seeing where you go with this.

Welcome to WordPress my friend.

Comment by gloaminganddawn




Leave a Reply

